An article by

Andreas Wegmann

Published on

29/03/2021

Reading time

2 min

The importance of EBICS in SEPA interbank payments has already been explained in another blog post. Different versions of EBICS are in use, but version 3.0 will be mandatory at the Bundesbank as of November 22, 2021 (version 3.0.1 is current as of today). However, a transition period of one year is still granted.

Why EBICS 3.0?

The new version primarily serves to harmonize the standard in Europe, i.e. the differences in Switzerland, France and Austria are disappearing. Due to the cost advantage compared to SWIFT and the recognized high level of security, the spread of EBICS will certainly continue to increase.
In terms of interoperability, it should be noted that the banking-specific interpretation in Germany is carried out by the DK. There may be deviations here in other countries. It also remains to be seen to what extent the EBICS real-time notification will be implemented by the banks in connection with SEPA Instant Payments.

What changes in version 3.0?

The Bundesbank recommends testing the conversion in good time, as it is not just a simple software update. Here are the most important changes:

  • A new BTF concept (Business Transactions & Formats) for the identification of specific send and pick-up orders replaces the previous order types. BTFs are still differentiated in terms of upload (BTU) and download (BTD).
  • Electronic keys must always be transmitted as an X.509 certificate. The minimum length for the various key types increases to 2048 bits and the A004 format has been removed from the standard.
  • The distributed electronic signature has been available in Germany since the introduction of EBICS. With the new version it is available in all other countries.
  • An adapted version of the customer protocol HAC in XML format replaces previous text-based versions.
  • Use of TLS 1.2 with an expandable cipher list
  • Possibility to transmit additional order information, e.g. B. the file name
  • Adjustments to the INI letter to display certificate information
  • Replacement of order attributes (OrderAttribute OZHNN, DZHNN) with a signature (SignatureFlag).

Are you looking for a solution for electronic payments?

EBICS 3.0

Ein Beitrag von

Andreas Wegmann

Veröffentlicht am

26.03.2021

Lesezeit

< 1 min

Die Bedeutung von EBICS im SEPA Interbankenzahlungsverkehr wurde in einem anderen Blogbeitrag bereits erläutert. Es sind unterschiedliche Versionen von EBICS im Einsatz, aber zum 22. November 2021 ist bei der Bundesbank EBICS 3.0 verpflichtend (zum Stand heute ist die Version 3.0.1 aktuell). Es wird allerdings noch eine Übergangsfrist von einem Jahr gewährt.

Wozu die neue Version EBICS 3.0?

Die neue Version dient in erster Linie der Harmonisierung des Standards in Europa, d.h. die Unterschiede in der Schweiz, Frankreich und Österreich verschwinden. Aufgrund des Kostenvorteils gegenüber SWIFT  und des anerkannt hohen Sicherheitsniveaus wird die Verbreitung von EBICS sicherlich weiter zunehmen.
In Sachen Interoperabilität bleibt zu beachten, dass die bankfachliche Auslegung in Deutschland vom DK vorgenommen wird. Hier kann es in anderen Ländern Abweichungen geben. Ebenso bleibt abzuwarten, in wie weit die EBICS Echtzeitbenachrichtigung im Zusammenhang mit den SEPA Instant Payments von den Banken umgesetzt wird.

Was ändert sich mit Version 3.0?

Die Bundesbank empfiehlt die Umstellung rechtzeitig zu testen, da es sich nicht nur um einfaches Softwareupdate einer Unterversion handelt. Hier die wichtigsten Änderungen im Überblick:

  • Ein neues BTF-Konzept (Business Transactions & Formats) zur Identifikation konkreter Sende- bzw. Abhol-Aufträge löst die bisherigen Auftragsarten ab. BTFs werden noch hinsichtlich Upload (BTU) und Download (BTD) unterschieden.
  • Die elektronischen Schlüsseln müssen immer als X.509-Zertifikat übertragen werden. Die Mindestlänge für die verschiedenen Schlüsselarten vergrößert sich auf 2048 Bit vergrößert. Das A004-Format wurde aus dem Standard entfernt.
  • Die verteilte Elektronische Unterschrift (VEU) war in Deutschland bereits seit der Einführung von EBICS zur Verfügung. Mit der neuen Version ist sie in allen anderen Ländern verfügbar.
  • Die angepasste Version des Kundenprotokolls HAC im XML-Format ersetzt bisherige textbasierte Versionen.
  • Nutzung von TLS 1.2 mit erweiterbarer Cipher-Liste
  • Möglichkeit zur Übermittlung zusätzlicher Auftragsinformationen, z. B. des Dateinamens
  • Anpassungen des INI-Briefs zur Darstellung von Zertifikatsinformationen
  • Ersatz von Auftragsattributen (OrderAttribute OZHNN, DZHNN) durch eine Unterschriftskennzeichnung (SignatureFlag).

Suchen Sie nach einer Lösung für den elektronischen Zahlungsverkehr?