TARGET2 Big Bang

An article by

Andreas Wegmann

Published on

15/11/2021

Reading time

3 min

The ECB’s TARGET market infrastructure will be converted in November 2022. What sounds harmless is a major challenge for SEPA banks. Some aspects of the TARGET2 Big Bang are explained in this post.

What does the TARGET2 Big Bang change?

The TARGET2 / T2S consolidation is intended to make the existing infrastructure more efficient. This includes

  • centralization of the systems (including liquidity control and master data)
  • breaking the monopoly of SWIFT as an access system and
  • switch to future-proof message formats (IS0 20022).

TARGET Services new

Although the name seems to remain the same, the IT system is fundamentally new. The direct SEPA participant banks have to adapt technically and organizationally to the new T2 / T2S.

Why a big bang?

The processing of financial transactions requires the highest security standards for IT systems. The ECB’s infrastructure is not only a clearing system for payments, but also for securities. The following video explains the essentials about clearing procedures in interbank payments:

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

In addition, the national banks control the minimum reserve of their participants here, among other things. In the case of the Bundesbank, this is more than 1,000 banks.
This multitude of vital tasks lead to a very high level of complexity that cannot be transferred to parallel operation for smooth migration.

The same level of complexity exists on the banking side, with corresponding consequences: all processes and programs have to be adapted. For banks, too, it would usually not be economically feasible to operate two systems, new and old, in parallel, as a demarcation (division of tasks) is very difficult.

No plan B

When the financial world adopts new norms or rules, delays are more the rule than the exception. Systemically important banks could delay the TARGET2 Big Bang if they do not complete their conversion project on time. The ECB has therefore introduced intensive monitoring of the project progress at these banks in order to be able to take countermeasures in good time. In an extreme case, the business activities of a bank would be “dwarfed” before the TARGET2 Big Bang until it is no longer systemically relevant. But all other banks must also continuously prove that they are preparing for the changeover. If a bank is actually unable to deal with the new system by the deadline, this will definitely lead to its ruin within a few days.

What must banks do for the TARGET2 Big Bang?

TARGET2 Big Bang: Phases of the T2/T2S consolidation

Years ago the Bundesbank began to adapt its direct SEPA participants to the consequences of the changeover. The fulfillment of work packages must be proven step by step. For example, the applications for setting up the cash accounts must be submitted by the end of 2021.

By Q3 2022 at the latest, extensive tests must be carried out to demonstrate the ability to handle the new infrastructure. These tests not only affect the IT systems (A2A tests, A = application) but also the training of employees (U2A, U = user). The entire documentation about it, as well as all manuals and specifications fill many thousands of pages. The content is conveyed in numerous online events and dedicated support teams provide assistance.

Failure is not an option.

Are you looking for a solution for electronic payments?

TARGET2 Big Bang

Ein Beitrag von

Andreas Wegmann

Veröffentlicht am

11.11.2021

Lesezeit

2 min

Zum November 2022 wird die TARGET Marktinfrastruktur der EZB umgestellt. Was harmlos klingt ist für SEPA Banken eine durchaus große Herausforderung.  Einige Aspekte des TARGET2 Big Bang werden in diesem Beitrag erläutert.

Was ändert der TARGET2 Big Bang?

Die TARGET2/T2S-Konsolidierung soll die bisherige Infrastruktur effizienter machen. Dazu gehören

  • eine Zentralisierung der Systeme (u.a. Liquiditätssteuerung und Stammdaten)
  • Aufbrechen des Monopols von SWIFT als Zugangssystem und
  • Umstieg auf zukunftsfähige Nachrichtenformate (IS0 20022).

TARGET Services neu

Obwohl die Namensgebung scheinbar gleich bleibt, ist das IT System grundlegend neu. Die direkten SEPA Teilnehmerbanken müssen sich technisch und organisatorisch auf das neue T2/T2S einstellen.

Warum ein Bang?

Die Abwicklung von Finanztransaktionen erfordert die höchsten Sicherheitsstandards für IT-Systeme. Die Infrastruktur der EZB ist nicht nur ein Clearing System für Zahlungen, sondern auch für Wertpapiere. Zudem Steuern die Nationalbanken hier u.a. die Mindestreserve ihrer Teilnehmer. Im Falle der Bundesbank sind dies mehr als 1.000 Banken.
Diese Vielzahl an vitalen Aufgaben führen zu einer sehr hohen Komplexität, die nicht in einen Parallelbetrieb für eine sanfte Migration überführt werden kann.

Auf der Bankenseite besteht die gleiche Komplexität mit entsprechenden Folgen: alle Abläufe und Programme müssen angepasst werden. Auch für Banken wäre es wirtschaftlich meist nicht darstellbar zwei Systeme, neu und alt, parallel zu betreiben, da eine Abgrenzung (Aufgabenteilung) sehr schwierig ist. 

Kein Plan B

Wenn die Finanzwelt neue Normen oder Regeln einführt, sind Verzögerungen eher die Regel als die Ausnahme. Systemrelevante Banken könnten den TARGET2 Big Bang verzögern, wenn sie nicht rechtzeitig ihr Umstellungsprojekt abschließen. Die EZB hat daher eine intensive Überwachung des Projektfortschrittes bei diesen Banken eingeführt, um rechtzeitig Gegensteuern zu können. Im Extremfall würde die Geschäftstätigkeit einer Bank vor dem TARGET2 Big Bang „verzwergt“ werden, bis die Systemrelevanz nicht mehr besteht. Aber auch alle anderen Banken müssen laufend nachweisen, dass sie sich auf die Umstellung vorbereiten. Wenn eine Bank tatsächlich zum Stichtag nicht mit dem neuen System umgehen kann, wird dies definitiv innerhalb weniger Tage zu ihrem Ruin führen. 

Was müssen Banken für den TARGET2 Big Bang tun?

T2/T2S-Konsolidierung

Testphasen T2/T2S-Konsolidierung

Die Bundesbank hat schon vor Jahren begonnen ihre direkten SEPA Teilnehmer auf die Konsequenzen der Umstellung einzustellen. Schrittweise muss die Erfüllung von Arbeitspaketen nachgewiesen werden. Mit Ende 2021 müssen z.B. die Anträge für die Einrichtung der Cash Konten eingereicht sein.
Spätestens mit Q3 2022 müssen per umfangreichen Tests die Fähigkeit zum Umgang mit der neuen Infrastruktur nachgewiesen werden. Diese Tests betreffen nicht nur die IT-Systeme (A2A Tests, A=Application) sondern auch das Training der Mitarbeiter (U2A, U=User). Die gesamte Dokumentation darüber, sowie alle Handbücher und Spezifikationen füllen viele tausend Seiten. In zahlreichen Online – Veranstaltungen werden die Inhalte vermittelt und dedizierte Support Teams geben Hilfestellung. 

Scheitern ist keine Option.

Suchen Sie nach einer Lösung für den elektronischen Zahlungsverkehr?